DNS module

HEllo, i understand you are wroking on dns module here: NethServer 8 · GitHub

Will using DNSMASQ not have the sae consequences we had with NS7 where we could not have a fully fledged DNS module?

OR will an an additional DNS module fully fledged be developed and implemented to also wrk along DNSMASQ

Hi Martin,

Will using DNSMASQ not have the sae consequences we had with NS7

Cannot answer to that due to I have no previous experience with NS7, what are the issues you’ve found?

In Nethserver 7, the DNS module that we had was based on DNSMasq, and hypothetically speaking , DNSmasq is not a fully fledged DNS authoritative server, which si what everyone using DNS functions had wanted for a long time.

the challenge was presented in that, because DNSMAsq was so tightly interwoven into NS 7, it was not possible to disable it in favour of any other DNS solution.

MEmbers have geenrally wanted a DNS solution tha toffers A records, MX records, TXT records, NS rrecords among the many other TLD based records for managing and resolving a domain fully.

My query in relation to this is whether, the DNSMasq module, iwll work alongside a future implementation for a full DNS authoritative resolver, or of the options would be to disable one for the other one to work.

In relation to handling DHCP, and basic A records, it functions well, but as a full Authoritative DNS server, its cant be the solution, that why memebrs had proposed among PowerDNS, TEchnitium and others.

AFAIK, there will be no fully fledged DNS/DHCP solution for NS8

This is due the the shift of NethServer from an OS to a orchestrator. The features you look for are now available in NethSecurity which is a Firewall, makes sense that you need a more robust solution for that.

Cannot stress this enough, dnsmasq can easily manage all the feature you asked, even the authoritative part, the question is if the UI will support them and the answer is no in this moment.