sipXcom LDAP integration with Nethserver

Hi Everyone,
Thank you so much for allowing me to be a part of something so cool. I have been using Nethserver for a little over a year now as my own personal email server (and any friends and family members who want to join my domain (or domains) for free). Since my last post I have rebuilt the server with version NethServer release 7.7.1908, and love how smooth it all is working. I have not had a chance to integrate things to it such as a windows 10 Pro clients, or any other OS clients yet. I do run my native iOS mail client with it though and everything works flawlessly, so thank you for writing great software and putting this project together.

The reason for my posting though is because I have to admit, I am not really good with LDAP and using an LDAP client to query a server for user authentication or synchronization, and I really just want to create users in one place for everything to authenticate from. I know some things about about LDAP, and I thought it could be a great place to start since sipXcom can query a database to populate users and extensions attributes. I also know that NethServer has an LDAP server that can be queried which I thought would be the perfect candidate for my project. My project now is to integrate an Open Source Unified Communications System called sipXcom with NethServer as sipXcom should be able query an LDAP server to populate users and extensions in it’s database. Once the system has users and phones (Polycom phones will automajically register) in the database, an administrator can associate phones to users where the phones are auto-provisioned and managed by sipXcom. I did this at my old job where I managed over 3,000 endpoints on a sipXcom server cluster and all users and extensions were imported from an MS AD.

More information can be found here about the subject: http://wiki.sipxcom.org/display/sipXcom/LDAP+Integration