NethServer-SavaPage module

I’ve been wanting this particular module for a long time. IMO SavaPage is a killer application if it comes to print management. Especially if it is pure printing: no interactions on the printer itself, just managing printjobs.
I wrote a detailed howto on installing SavaPage on NethServer, but if it comes to real integration we need to make an (official) module for it to be installed on top of the nethserver-cups printserver module.

I have tried to create a module, but since I am not a developer, I just get it done. So I would like to do an urgent request to the rest of our community if someone is willing to spend some time on it. I can help in ways of testing and give application specific directions. I also can think out loud in discussions about possible solutions and I am in direct contact with the developer of SavaPage, so I can ask him questions so we can make this a great addition for NethServer.
Anyone available to help?

8 Likes

I’d like to give it a try, but I am not able to do Nethgui for now, but learning. I’d take your howto (I remember you wanted to refresh it) as starting point.

2 Likes

2 days ago I did a new install on NethServer 7.4 with all updates. There is no need to change the Howto. It just works as it is described in the wiki.
NetGui is probably the least of the problems creating the module and there are several experienced devs that can give pointers.

I would love to make it a joined effort.
@giacomo already made a start with the module. You can find that here: https://github.com/gsanchietti/nethserver-savapage. I hope we can make it a fully working addition to the nethserver-cups module.

Maybe I am thinking like a non coder, but I see some overlapping areas between SavaPage and Webtop.