Nethserver DHCP configuration using WDS PXE

Hi all,

i’m new and i want congratulate with DEV people for the hard work for the last stable release !!!
I’m an IT admin and i started to use Nethserver like a transparent proxy with MAC binding firewall rule, so my goal is reached.
Now i ask you : how is the configuration for the DHCP to redirect to an external WDS PXE Server?

I use Windows SCCM ( WDS PXE ) to deploy on the pcs and i want to use it more.

I’ve found you documentation but if i didn’t seen bad the documentation explains only the situation of linux deploy.

The Apple Netboot work correctly without any Nethserver DHCP particular config and i can deploy my MACs on network.
I’ve a problem only with Windows PXE, but for me it’s 80% of work.

I ask you an help…
Thank you

Hi @acsel10
Welcome to our Great community !

You could try to modify /etc/dnsamsq.conf in option 66 and paste your exteral PXE server.
If not try to use this manual
http://www.richud.com/wiki/Network_iPXE_dnsmasq_Examples_PXE_BOOT

I use this custom template:

# cat /etc/e-smith/templates-custom/etc/dnsmasq.conf/81bootp 
# filippo - enable bootp on nethservice
dhcp-boot=net:eth0,pxelinux.0,nethservice.nethesis.it,192.168.5.252
1 Like

Ehilá namesake!
The @dev_team would be happy to read your words. What are your feelings with NethServer? Are you using it at your company or for test only?

Hi all,

and thanks for replyes.

@ alefattorini
i’m feeling good with Nethserver.
I’m using Nethserver like a gateway with web filtering in my work environment, an Educational environment; i started to use it after a test period obviously.
I think that it is a good complete solution for a lan networking and it has good growth prospects.

@Nas
i’ve tried to modify /etc/dnsmaq.conf in option 66 with a template-custom method. But no way. My Windows PXE server doesn’t recieve any request. The client takes an IP but doesn’t contact my PXE server.