KDC not present in NS7B1

Hi folks,

tried to get kerberos credentials from my NS7 with Network Identity Manager, but got message that there is no KDC available. “Domain Accounts” show that there is a KDC.

Isn’t the above KDC meant to give credentials to clients? I tried to ping the ip, but it is not reachable.
(If this is a silly question please for give me. I’m not experienced with this stuff :blush:)

Installation is a vm with one nic bridged to physical eth0, but that shouldn’t matter i think.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

I think on the contrary it can be relevant, because if the VM has a bridged interface it cannot be reached by the host system (at on least my Linux/Fedora/KVM install). Could you ping it from another machine?

The ns7-vm has 192.168.0.235 and can be pinged from any machine in the network. The KDC is in a container i think. The 192.168.0.236 can be pinged from ns7-vm, but not from any other machine in network.

sorry, I forgot to mention, that this is a NS6/virtualbox install

It seems a VirtualBox issue…

o.k. I’ll install webvirtmgr and KVM and setup a new machine.
Will report if that helped.

Thanks so long Davide.

Ehi Ralf, how is it going with your tests?

hi @alefattorini , unfortunately i have troubles with setting up a nethserver-dc instance. I created a ns7 instance with webvirtmanager and updated it. everything worked perfectly. The installation of nethserv-dc-package itself worked also. But when i try to start the DC, the process stucks at “57% adjust-services”. Tried it serveral times. But always the same. :sob:

Could it be a problem of a container in a kvm-instance?

1 Like

I never had problems with containers on my VMs.

The screenshot above does not help. You can reset the nsdc state as documented here

http://docs.nethserver.org/projects/nethserver-devel/en/v7b/nethserver-dc.html#factory-reset

Are you allocating a free IP?

yes. I tried it with different ip.

hi @davidep and @alefattorini