How to edit templates

NethServer Version: 7.4
Module: samba

Hello. I’m new to Nethserver but I know CentOS. What is the recommended way to edit templates? I prefer to use sudo instead of logging in as root over SSH.

I see one solution from here:

echo "%powerusers	ALL=(ALL)	ALL" > /etc/sudoers.d/90powerusers
chmod 440  /etc/sudoers.d/90powerusers

Is this the best way? I don’t see the reason for making a separate group if we already have the adm group.
I am also confused about why the sudoers template is located in /etc instead of under /etc/e-smith like all the rest.

The file suggested to add is not a template, it will be a real file outside of e-smith and so will not be overwritten by a template expansion.

There is only one e-smith controlled file in that directory:

ls -l /etc/e-smith/templates/etc/sudoers.d/
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 20 Jul 24 21:03 30_nethserver_cockpit_roles

Cheers.

1 Like

In /etc/sudoers.d/ I have several files:

10_nethserver
20_nethserver_backup_config
20_nethserver_base
20_nethserver_directory
20_nethserver_httpd_admin
20_nethserver_sssd
90_nethserver_nextcloud

and the first one begins with the usual warning like this so it looks like part of the template system:

# ================= DO NOT MODIFY THIS FILE =================
# 
# Manual changes will be lost when this file is regenerated.
#
# Please read the developer's guide, which is available
# at NethServer official site: https://www.nethserver.org
#
# 

Also, inside /etc/e-smith/templates/etc/sudoers/ I have some different files:

00adm_commands
20diagtools
20shorewall
30nethserver_adm

Follow-up question: How do I restart a particular service such as samba so it rewrites the smb.conf from my new templates?

To write config files and restart relevant services:

signal-event nethserver-samba-update

Just write config file:

expand-template /etc/...

http://docs.nethserver.org/projects/nethserver-devel/en/latest/templates.html#the-expansion-of-templates

1 Like