WIFI Configuration at the GUI

We, @smutje1179 and me, are searching for a solution to configure the connection of the WIFI Card at the GUI. In our case we need it for connecting the WIFI card as red interface to a Hotspot and the LAN Card as green Interface to a Notebook. IT’s for customers of mine, who are not able to do this at a configfile, but they have to connect to several WLAN Hotspots, so they have to configure it for the several hotspots.
Some years ago there was a topic about configuring the WIFI. @filippo_carletti had the idea to maybe implement this.

I think it isn’t done till now. Could we help with this? So you could help us how to write a point for the gui.

2 Likes

I am having the same question. While installating the OS the IP is automatically picked up by the hardware. so once I try to setup from GUI as Red or Green, it’s status doesn’t change and remains down.

In another post it is advised to use the configuration of Raspberry Pi,( I am new to Nethserver , what to talk of Raspberry PI).
If someone has configured it on a laptop using laptop’s wifi adapter, can you kindly give out the exact commands to be typed in NETHServer Dos mode , please.

Assume me a child who will type as you would say to enable my wifi status.

Thanks.

I even attached a usb wifi adaptor too. but it is also down .

Time for “mix ‘n’ mojo”, i have to assume.
All things below are pure theory, never tried to apply in any enviroment or connect a wireless card via linux shell.
I don’t think that use wlans on servers/appliances except for hotspot is a good idea…
Long live wired connections, for peace of mind and connection stability

First of all, remove zone red from the wlan, then setup wired green with the correct setup to access to internet; ff the only option is the wireless connection, consider installing temporary an access point in client mode, which will allow Green to connect to internet.
Therefore install wpa_supplicant, and configure it.