Webtop vs sogo thinking

Hello,

I’m just curious about the reason for moving from SoGo to WebTop. I’ve been looking at NethServer for a few months and I’m getting ready for a test deployment. One thing of large importance to me is groupware. The way I understand it is as follows (while everything I write will sound like it, this is not meant to be troll bait)

SoGo - is older (less buggy?), ok documentation
WebTop - newer (more bugs?), no documentation, Java based so slow and endless security flaws

I don’t know if SoGo is Java based or not. Also, I’m not a developer. It seems like you are replacing a stable piece with a new and somewhat unknown piece. Has SoGo not worked as expected?

My use of NethServer would be for some of our small business clients. Because of that I’m looking for stability. Since Neth is based on CentOS it gives me a warm fuzzy. My concern is that something newer/better/flashier will come along next year and NethServer will replace WebTop with that.

Again, no insults intended to anyone, I’m just looking for your logic/reasoning.

Regards,
Rich.

1 Like

AFAIK, Sogo is written mostly in objective C.
I think that webtop is older than sogo, maybe less known in the linux world.
However, I don’t think that webtop will replace sogo in the short term. And we will offer an upgrade path if and when we will switch.

1 Like

I must confess I don’t know webtop at all. And I am quite familiar with SOGo. It does what it must do and is quite stable. I use it for a few years now for my personal mail.
If I am honest I would stay away as far as possible from any java based applications. Java is a huge resource hog. I would think twice (make that 10 times) before going on the webtop path.

2 Likes

I have been trying a combination of roundcube and owncloud (version 8.2) instead of SOGo or Webtop for the last 2 months.

This combination has some useful features that is missing from either SoGo or Webtop -