Virtual domain controller wirelessly

So I would like to set up my own network inside my home wifi. I’m a bit new to this so I may have some of this wrong

The set up should be really simple but let me explain:

The broadband router is virgin media wifi and any device should be able to connect to this without anything changing. Basically the new network should not change anything for any of the existing users of the broadband connection.

Then I will set up a PC with Windows 10 pro that will connect to the wifi.
Within that PC I will set up a virtual linux box which will be the domain controller - running Nethserver & Samba for active directory. The virtual machine will be running on Virtual box.

This is where I think things will get a bit tricky.

I want all computers that join this domain to go through the domain controller for internet access - the domain controller to act as a gateway/firewall.

All workstations will need to connect wirelessly to the domain controller so the enventual outcome will be

Workstation-[wirelessly connect to] ->Domain controller (virtual box within another PC) -[wirelessly connects to]->Virgin media router->Internet

All workstations will be running Windows 10 Pro

What do I need to achieve this. I feel like some sort of wireless router or network switch that sits between the workstations and the domain controller with that router connected by ethernet cable to the PC and then somehow that connections piped in to the virtual machine that is hosting the domain controller.

Is this correct? Any recommendations on which hardware

These two goals are not compatible. If you want the domain controller to be the gateway, then your clients are going to need to use the DC as the gateway. In order to do that, they can’t be connecting directly to the Virgin Media router.

1 Like

@Gareth_Atkinson, @danb35

Hi

Theroretically, it could be done…