Unable to install Nethserver 7.9

Hi All

I am unable to complete the install of Nethserver on my hardware. I tested multiple installs in a VMware virtual lab and had no issues. When I tried to install it on my hardware it all goes very smoothly until I get to “Post Installation Setup Tasks”. It hangs there and never completes. I left it for an hour. I am unable to leave it for longer as everyone in my house needs Internet so had to swap back in the drive with my Untangle install. I tried both interactive and unattended installs. I also tried different USB sticks and created them with both Rufus and Etcher in case they were causing issues but I don’t think this is the issue, I believe its something to do with the hardware I am trying to install too.

My hardware is the following with 8GB RAM and 250GB mSATA SSD.

I am new to using Nethserver but not new to firewalls. At home, over the last 4 years I have used Pfsense, OPNSense, Sophos XG and more recently Untangle. All these install and run fine on this hardware.

I am really excited to try Nethserver as I really liked what I saw in testing over the last few days. Any help to get this installed will be really appreciated.

Hi @mirkster,
welcome to the community.
You could try to install CentOS 7. If this works you can install nethserver by commandline.

https://docs.nethserver.org/en/v7/installation.html#install-on-centos

If CentOS Installation does not work, I think you are right, it’s something with the hardware.

1 Like

@m.traeumner usually works!

immagine
For the hardware there are few performance declarations
immagine
And instal guides. But no explicit CentOS 7 compatibility which is mandatory for using NethServer 7.
Mind you ask to the dealer/producer?

I will try the base CentOS 7 install with CLI install after and report back. If it does work what is the difference between the two different install methods. Is the CentOS 7 install somehow missing any optimisations or anything else?