UI enhancement - delete dialog

Not exactly a bug, not exactly a feature, so I’m not sure what the best category is for this, but I think a tweak to the standard delete-confirmation dialog would be an improvement. That dialog, used in many places, has the user type something to confirm the action:[1]

The text to type is set off only by single quotes. It’s possible for this to confuse the user as to what needs to be typed (include the quotes or not), particularly if that text includes other punctuation. An improvement IMO would be to set it off in a different font. Here’s an example in bold monospace:

Being bold, the text is more obvious to the user, and there’s no extraneous punctuation to confuse things.


  1. Somewhat surprisingly, deleting a software repository happens without confirmation. ↩︎

3 Likes