Should I use AD or stay at LDAP

NethServer Version: 7.9.2009
Module: AD / LDAP

I’m a newbie on NS7 (but an older SME user).
I’m aware NS7 has a conteiner to SAMBA4/AD but I’ll install on a very small company (5-8 Win10/11 machines) and have no experience on AD and RSAT.

So I’d like to ask if it worth to use AD and what I’ll loose keeping on LDAP (besides GPO!)
I’m not sure if GPO are so wonderful or if I’ll have no problems with SAMBA4/AD/GPO.

Any thoughts ?

Regards,

Jáder

Hi @jader

With LDAP you only have the option of public shares in Windows, not Group-based Shares like is possible with AD.

Not worth using LDAP…

My 2 cents
Andy

Currently the company already have AD?

No, it’s a fresh new install. Today they have no server and use Mega to store documents!
I’ll use PROXMOX to virtualize NS7, a CT withPBS and have backups on SATA disk (internal) and external disk/PBS provider .

I cannot have groups and users owner of shares like in SME ?
They just have 4 groups (directory, financial, operational, human resources) so not a big problem map them by netlogon script.

Consider this: unless specific procedures for migrating configuration and data, every windows client need to be reconfigured from scratch (profile) if migrated into a domain.

Biggest downside ever of using LDAP instead of AD: granularity of share permission is significantly lower.
https://docs.nethserver.org/en/v7/shared_folder.html

Hello Jader

mostly it is better to use AD with Windows 7 to 11 Clients. But you need Windows xx professional or more.

Things like singel sign on and ACL are working mutch better with a AD.

With non Windows Clients OpenLDAP is better.

I don’t agree with @Axel.
In my opinion key point is SAMBA/Shared folders.