Proxmox - unlicenced

Following on from some interesting discussions advocating the use of proxmox i was interested in the communities thoughts around using this product without paying the subscription fee - my main objection to paying is not the principle but because the charging model is based around cpus, and im using old multi core servers, i could foot a considerable bill for relatively low performance!.. is this tool viable without their support or does it risk being too flaky for a small business to run their servers off… a little subjective i know but im interested in your opinions!

I run two Proxmox hosts, both on dual-socket X5650s. I have a subscription for one and not the other. Both work fine. I see occasional slight differences in the updates available (which is to be expected, as they’re using different repos), but I can’t tell any difference in stability or usability.

3 Likes

thanks Dan - that sounds a reasonable way to go - thanks for your thoughts

From the little I know of Proxmox I would say the paid subscription is only worth it if your using it in a production environment and need the support. As mentioned you may see some differences in updates, but they should be minor.

If your comfortable using it and fixing it when/if problems arise and its not critical you have 100% uptime, the only reason I can think of is to support the project.

Hi

I support around 20 ProxMox servers, at clients, friends and my own testing / productive environment.
Not all are paid subscriptions, but whatever: ProxMox is really stable!

Use what you’re comfortable with, don’t forget regular backups (ProxMox has that built-in for Guests).
If you’re not familiar with ZFS - don’t use it (yet)! I’d suggest using XFS for the ProxMox itself, you are offered the options during setup…

Try it, you’ll be really pleasantly surprised!

My 2 cents
Andy

1 Like