Hey community,
i’m still a NS rookie and i Need your help :smirk:

one green one blue and one red NIC

red is WWW
blue are WiFi devices
green are my regulars
every NIC has its own VLAN configured with my switch
my rules look like this:

my idea was not to give everyone in blue and green access to red so i created my host Group inet-members.
my problem is with my “blue” members… sometimes it works sometimes not… in a case of 1 of 10 my browser want to load a Website but stuck after a few seconds… when i wait 30 seconds it loads the page correctly…
i think it’s a config problem from my side.
anyone an idea for my problem or a smarter way for my realization
I am happy about every help
greetings chris

Hi @chrish
don’t worry everyone here was a NethServer rookie once!

Let me mention here @islipfd19 @jitkian @dnutan @Hunv @firsttiger @ssabbath

still a rookie btw.

Maybe it is not correlated, but what is the chipset on the blue nic? I had a similar problem with clearos and RTL8168 and e1000e maybe i can help.

1 Like

Something else: Do you have DHCP in blue? If yes: how you are sure, that every Client will stay at the same IP and your hosts in the host group will apply?

1 Like

hey guys thanks a lot for replying,
@ssabbath cause the chip i must take a look tomorrow
@hunv i make a IP reservation manualy and put them after that in the host group.

so by the way… is it even possible to do it with firewall rules and the host group? i’m not sure :confused:

Hi,
Internally, NS has rules like green > blues > orange > red
Your second and thrid rules are in contradiction with the default rules.

I think it’s better to suppress all the fist three rules and make a user group that not allow to go to the net and make an single rule to reject this group on red

Edit: By experience, it can be a pain to restrict access by zone or machine.
to restrict the web access, let the proxy doing the job.

AT the firewall level, just restrict by type of service ( dns, http, …)