POP or IMAP connector to non standard ports

Hello,

I am new to NETHSERVER and was using the last few days to get familiar with it. I was using ZENTYAL for quite a while, but I changed to NETSERVER due to the RPi support. I am quite satisfied and almost all what I wanted is running excellent.
However, I was running into one problem I was unable to solve:
I use DAVMAIL on another RPi what connects through a CISCO tunnel to our university systems where ONLY EXCHANGE is running. That is NOT reachable from the public Internet. DAVMAIL is offering POP3, IMAP and related protocols from ports, which are 1000 higher then standard, e.g. 1110, 1143, etc …
With the usual email MUAs and also with the ZENTYAL connector reaching those ports is no problem. I tried the same in NethServer and failed due to the lack of a seperate port field in the dialog …

So, l how to do that without digging too deep into the system :slight_smile: … ?

Tnx for your help,
Jürgen

–… …–

Probably I should add, that I of course have tested to write the IP address and port e.g. like this

aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd:1110

but then GETMAIL does not send anything at all (I check with WIRESHARK).
Also, the internal used adresses of DAVMAIL should not be changed …

Hi and welcome to NethServer Community,

NethServer uses templates to write the config files.
To change the port getmail uses, you need a custom template.

Create custom template dir:

mkdir -p /etc/e-smith/templates-custom/getmailrc/

Create a file /etc/e-smith/templates-custom/getmailrc/11port with following content:

{
    my $port = $account->prop('Port') || '';
    if ($port) {$OUT .= "port = $port\n";}
}

Now it’s possible to use a port property in the getmail database to set a custom port.

To get the already configured getmail entries:

db getmail show

Set port 1110 for a forwarder:

db getmail setprop testname@testmail.at@testserver.at Port 1110

Apply the configuration:

signal-event nethserver-getmail-save

5 Likes

Hi there,