PHP 7.2 or higher for PCI DSS compliance

NethServer Version: 7
Module: 5.4

We use Nethserver 7.6 as our internet firewall/gateway. We process credit card payments through our internet connection(s), and as such we are subject to Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI DSS) which include external scanning of our red ports. PCI DSS requires PHP 7, not PHP 5 due to multiple found vulnerabilities and PHP 5.4 having reached end of support. I love this distro and the many features it uses like multiwan, Suricata and DPI that I could not easily implement myself, however, I need the most recent versions of PHP and Apache installed. When I manually install PHP 7.2, it breaks the web interface. I have not even attempted Apache yet. Are there plans to upgrade the distro to use the current secure versions of PHP and Apache, or should I abandon Nethserver?
I have been using Nethserver for 3+ years and do not want to go back to ClearOS or get locked into a vendor’s product sales/lifecycle.

Respectfully,
Paul

( on a completely different note, I have ssh access to the nethserver firewall, but the :980 port browser interface initially refused all connections, but after opening the port on the firewall (iptables -I INPUT 1 -i em1 -p tcp --dport 980 -j ACCEPT
) it no longer rejects, but just times out.)

https://wiki.nethserver.org/doku.php?id=php-scl

However, CentOS still backports security fixes for all major packages, so security, as such, isn’t a reason to need to do this. I’m not aware of any good way to upgrade Apache, though it’s already running a fairly recent version.

when you want to upgrade a software version, you should refer to the software collection of redhat. It is the only supported way to do this

Is there a website on the NethServer instance processing the card payments? Or is it just the gateway?

You would have to triple-check this, but the following should help with the PCI compliancy if you’re not running the latest version of PHP: