Open-source encrypted notes app

Hey all, wanted to share Standard Notes with you. It’s an open-source encrypted notes app with cross-platform sync, and let’s you access your notes securely from any platform. It makes for a good encrypted Evernote alternative, as I know lots of people have been seeking that lately after their privacy policy gaffe.

It was recently on the front page of the Linux subreddit. I’m the developer of the app and would be happy to answer any questions regarding my experience with open-source and encryption development, or anything else.

I’m new to NethServer, but I’d be interested in seeing if it would make sense to have a Standard Notes web module, and how exactly that would work.

Would love any feedback you have as well!

https://standardnotes.org

3 Likes

Hi Mo, welcome.
Did you already try to install it on CentOS? Or do you have some notes?
It would be great, so our people can start to play with it.

Hey Alessio, I haven’t yet installed NethServer or any components. I’m a Mac user and run Ubuntu when I need to test and deploy Standard Notes on Linux. I’m looking over http://docs.nethserver.org/projects/nethserver-devel/en/v7/create_interface_module.html now and it seems reasonable.

So I’m not sure if I understand this correctly — an app would need to be designed as a NethServer component for it to run in the OS? Or would Linux apps (such as AppImage) work as is?

Although NethServer is highly modular, it is not based on appimage based extensions. You can debate (and there has been a loty of debate about appimage already in numerous communities and fora) if putting everything in 1 image/container/whatever you want to call it. IMO there is a huge risk updates of such an image is neglected and become a seurity risk. If I look at IoT applications there already are tons of insecure rubbish around.