NS8 on a virtual machine running on a LOCAL LAN

Hi all,

I would like to chat with someone testing NS8 on a virtual machine running on a LOCAL LAN.

I have a chat room with BigBlueButton. (I am a newbie on BBB but I know it is working)

A few heads are better than only one…

Michel-André

1 Like

Just for the record: this forum has a chat room too!

I don’t have the icon… maybe it is not active for everyone?

2 Likes

Hi @saitobenkei

Same thing for me too.

Michel-André

I do have the icon - never used it, though…

1 Like

Hi @davidep

Is it a writing chat or a talking chat ?

Michel-André

Hi

Looks like a writing only chat to me - i’ve never used it…

My 2 cents
Andy

1 Like

Hi @Andy_Wismer

If it is only a writing chat, it is as useful as the BBS from the previous century…

Michel-André

1 Like

Hi

I’ve had my share of those great modem (or before that i actually used acustic-couplers) experiences, also CompuServe…

I can appreciate an interior holographic 3D display, with an antique looking steampunk style exterior, but not “mainframe” chat functionality on my present day Macbook!

Not even an option to activate a classic green-screen look, or orange, as some may prefer… :slight_smile:

My 2 cents!
Andy

1 Like

Hi @Andy_Wismer

300 Bauds was standard and 1200 Bauds was extreme speed ! :laughing:

Michel-André

Let’s ask @alefattorini

ZyXel modems were almost a household name then…

My first accoustic coupler was 75 baud… (I think, not sure anymore!)

It was not only the last century, it was the last millenium!

But 1200 made you feel like a millionaire then!

:slight_smile:

My 2 cents
Andy

1 Like

Hi @Andy_Wismer

I remember 75 and 150 Bauds.

I was working on banking terminals from Olivetti with a wide 8 bits paper tape. It was THE thing…