Nethserver squid proxy and file server

NethServer Version: NethServer release 7.5.1804 (final)
Module: web proxy

Dear friends,

I am Vuk and I am new to nethserver. I have found that nethserver offers many functionalities so I decided to install it. However, a linux installation without any problems wouldn’t be a linux installation. :smiley:

I would like to make a web proxy filter and a file server. My first installation worked as a web proxy and web content filter but when I changed the IP address of it, everything messed up so I decided to install it again and start over. The new installations are not working because squid proxy is listening only on TCP-V6 (when I set it to be gateway and dns on the user computer then it blocks everything). Editing the squid.conf doesn’t help.

My installation steps and after installation steps were absolutely the same as first time but the functionality differs. Im a bit confused…

Setup:

1. mikrotik as a gateway
  2. nethserver squid is dns and proxy

Anyone knows why is this happening and how it can be solved?

Best Regards

Hi Vuk,

welcome to Nethserver community.

Do you use transparent proxy? In this case Nethserver has to be gateway for the clients. Do you use Nethserver in gateway mode (red and green interface) behind the Microtik?

Nethserver in gateway mode allows clients to connect to the internet by default, so it should just work without proxy. Maybe there’s a network config error?

By entering following commands you can check the network config:

ip a
db networks show

Be careful when editing config files directly, Nethserver uses a template system and your changes will be overwritten.

Proxy documentation:

http://docs.nethserver.org/en/v7/web_proxy.html

2 Likes

Helo mrmarkuz,

Thanks for this detailed and prompt reply!