Nethserver Memory Usage

For ram and swap this far has consumed a lot, please Nethserver made to a minimum so as not to eat a lot of ram. Constraints are also experienced by Nethserver users in this post Minimal system requirements for NethServer

I am not an expert on this, but I understood that (any) Linux distro will use a much RAM as it can grab. On the other hand, it will release resources as soon another service needs more. So it is not realy necessary to increase RAM if you see a more or less permanent high use of RAM.
Anyone who can point to explaining literature on this matter?

Even though I have followed the minimum hardware requirements but when there is a pacakage update I try to update the result is 876MB of RAM is used even though before the package update only 346MB of RAM was used. I tried to install all the packages in the Software Center, but I ate 876MB of RAM and 670MB of swap?

Working on arm devices (including raspberry PI’s) I gathered some expertize on this on this :grinning:

@robb is right: On the dashboard al used RAM is reported; this includes cache and buffers. How much cache/buffers you need depends on your usage. Taking a short cut here: if you have a lot of users and traffic you need enough room for your buffers. See https://www.linuxatemyram.com/

Here my raspberry PI, and i would argue its (just?) over the edge. Its running LDAP 5 users a mail server (without anti virus!), SOGo, intrusion protection and next-cloud and statiscics.

afbeelding

As you can see memory is fully used on the dashboard, nevertheless still some room for buffers (Yellow) and cache (Blue). Red lines is where you sould worry about. (depending on your application of the sever) .

To the antivirus part: (and other memory “hogs”)

• Antivirus takes about 600-700 Mb, nothing you can do about it. There are just to many viruses out there.