NethServer HotSync Questions

I’m completely new to NethServer, and looking for some insight on some promising features I’ve come to notice.

I’ll be doing a multiple location site to site tunneled network connecting at least 3 buildings, and am curious how exactly your HotSync functionality works. Is it an automatic failover, or does it have to be manually switched over at the disconnection of the master.

Additionally, what is actually synced, is it just settings or is it content as well, for example, does nethserver-mail actually sync the mail accounts and all data, or does it just sync the settings associated with that service.

Does the same go for the NethServer Apache Hosts? Does it only sync configuration, or does that sync data as well. I assume Active Directory syncs, but I know from tests you can do a primary/secondary setup with those controllers over a site-to-site tunnel.

What would be the best way (in your opinion) to do a multiple site-to-site across a domain, where each building would be a failover point, or is that not possible for this software yet.

This is for an emergency services agency, so uptime, functionality, and reliability are absolutely crucial.

Your insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Did you read documentation about hotsync? Which is now currently unsupported, but only from the community?

@cfd10

First of all: Welcome to the NethServer Community!

I’m plan and build networks for 20-30 SME clients. Among them are doctors, hotels and other clients, some need high availability, but all need a general high annual availibility, and fast disaster recovery, even if say a NAS or Server goes poof…

HotSync is a nice feature, but not quite “there” yet, and not the right foundation for high availability!