Nethserver dns server intranet and internet

NethServer Version: 7.9

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on nethserver forum. i was told about this very useful distro, although i´m struggling with the following:

i have a dell r610 server, 4 gigabit ethernet interfaces.
interface 1 for LAN USERS (GREEN)

In my organization, there is an area that provides both internet and intranet services.

So, in order to acces internet, we conect to a especial switch tat provides this service by setting up my pc with specific dns.

if i want to acces to intranet, we conect to a switch that provides such service by setting up a diferent pc with specific dns.

what i want to achieve is conecting my dell r610 interface 2 to the switch that provides internet and interface 3 to the switch that provides intranet, so my LAN users can acces both internet an intranet from a very unique host.

i have read about setting up dns server on centos 7, but i want to know if this procedure would work for me.

thanks in advance.

1 Like

@bensha

Hi

And welcome to the NethServer community!

NethServer uses DNSMask as built in DNS Server / Forwarder. Just assign the provider allocated DNS to NethServer, and NethServer will provide your internal clients with IPs and DNS…

The “Intranet” Switch can be either a Green or Blue Interface.

My 2 cents
Andy

1 Like

What I do in such cases:

• add an entry for the (sub)domain in registrar DNS
  • add an entry for the (sub)domain in NethServer DNS for local clients.

You have to make sure your local DNS is primary DNS for your LAN clients.

1 Like

I could (prolly) be wrong, but you can have this by adding a route?!

I dont think thats even necessary if you have two green networks and want to make them see each other.