Nethserver as a router/firewall on my notebook

Hi everyone,
I’m going to be probably a Nethserver’s new user.
I’m not a network expert or a geek whatsoever, but I often spend my time learning new stuff about computer, and I am now interested in this OS to realize a new project.
So, before I install Nethserver on my notebook I’d like to understand if it suits my needs.
I’d like to make my notebook work as a router/firewall. In a few words, it should get internet connection from another router/AP or my smathphone in tethering through its wireless adapter (which is going to be a WAN port), then sharing the connection through its only one ethernet port (which is going to be a LAN port), to which I’ll plug a little switch or an AP.
Actually, I’ll probably install it on Vmware first.
Can Nethserver work this way? Feel free to give me any advice?
Thanks

Hi @mur and welcome to NethServer communtiy! I am glad you found your way to these forums.
It should be possible this way yes… BUT
Is your intention to still use your laptop as a workstation for day to day use? In that case: find another solution!
I think you are better off by getting yourself a small, low consumption, small form factor system like an Intel NUC with dual network adapter and use that as a dedicated system for your NethServer install.
Or just find an old pc with 2 network interfaces that has a decent amount of memory and preferably a low consumption processor. I found this post on makeuseof that gives some insights in how to build a low energy system: https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/build-your-own-low-wattage-pc-with-three-simple-design-rules/
Maybe the low end option could be something for you.
You already mention you will use VMWare first. That is a good start to get used to NethServer and try what it can and can’t do. There are several alternatives for VMWare like VirtualBox. If you use a bare metal hypervisor, we have several successful installs on ProxMox, HyperV and ESXi

1 Like