NethServer and Exchange

Hi All,

I’m new to Nethserver coming from another distro. I have searched but I couldn’t find an exact howto…Maybe I had a man look…
In brief, I have this scenario for incoming/outgoing email:

BigBadWorld > Router > Linux > Exchange server

Email comes to the linux box, gets filtered and scanned for viruses and then forwarded onto the exchange server.

On the way out, exchange uses the Linux box as a SmartHost through a linux user and password,
and the process is reversed.

How do I forward email from Nethserver to exchange (I have the email modules installed on NethServer, and do I still use a linux user and password to send email from the exchange box?

Thank you in advance…

BM

NethServer Version: your_version Latest
Module: your_module

@bm777

Hi

And welcome to the NethServer community!

It can be even simpler…

For Outgoing:
You can set the smarthost to allow the trusted IPs of your LAN to send Mail without authentification…
I’d still suggest using a Linux User (eg: smtpuser) for your smarthost…

For Incoming:
You can forward all mail for a certain, defined domainname to another server.
You also have the option to forward mail “per user”.

My 2 cents
Andy

2 Likes

HI Andy and thanks for your kind and prompt reply…I’d keep things easy and forward the entire mail to exchange, but when I go and do that, the option is greyed out…
I hope I’m under the correct option…
Applications > Email > Domains > Edit and “relay to another server”
Option greyed out…

First create a new domain…

Hi there and thanks for the reply…OK…So I will have to place the NethServer onto his own domain and then forward to the existing exchange domain…
Right…So I take there is no way to rename the domain/hostname without re-installing…
Sorry about all the questions…Once I have got this right I will make a how to for anyone in this predicament…

Hi

You CAN change the domainname / IP of your NethServer if you haven’t installed an account provider yet.