Neth 8 AD IP and baremetal on a Thinclient HP T730

hello Everybory

Now was a lill bit of time to test Baremetel install of Neth 8 on a smal Thinclient with 4G RAM 512GB SATA SSD, and a 4 Core embedded AMD Prozessor. Fist privat homeserver use …

I neet a AD, fileserver, nextcloud, mail… Later a plex server. for more functionalitys i will start more Cluster-notes.

sorry i am not an expert o container :frowning:

First i like the concept, my idea is using the HP as a head of a Cluster and bigger Apps had there own Nodes. So i hope to fix the high eletric power bill !

The installation with a small debian server installation was easy.

I am a lill bit confused aboud networking (Neth 7 had a own DNS/DHCP) now this service is external ? The node get 2 networks 192.168.38.x and 10.x.x.x . The 10.x.x.x ist for container comunication.

So my AD get his own IP4 in 192.168.38x like in the 7.9 version and same Domainname ?

Later i try to install the nextcloud Modul and now i am hanging …
How to config the FQDN nextcloud.sub.domain.example and withch IP ? Did i need a external DNS?
DNS for both Networks ?
Next how i can handel diskspace ?

when i undersand this i will buil a small setup manual

but i like the style and the concept !

thx Axel

PS can be helpful to hv a own category for Neth 8 install and testing

sorry i am confuesd !?

I took the time for a fast CPU comparison.
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare/2496vs1099vs4637vs3716/AMD-RX-427BB-vs-Intel-Pentium-E5400-vs-Intel-i3-11100B-vs-AMD-Ryzen-3-3300X
First one is the APU of your thin client.
Second one is the CPU of my crappy server test.
Third one is a 80 euro CPU two generations old
Fourth one is a 90 euro CPU three generations old (more or less comparable with 4100 and 4300G).

If you wish to play with NS8 not less that last cpu -30%