Joining Google LDAP?

NethServer Version: 7.9.2009
Module: Accounts Provider/SSSD

Hi

I’m a school network admin, I’ve got a job that Nethserver seems a good fit for (an authenticated proxy for our Chromebooks).

I’m trying to use our google domain as an LDAP provider, basically following the instructions here:
https://support.google.com/a/answer/9089736?hl=en&ref_topic=9173976#zippy=%2Csssd-red-hat-enterprise-and-centos

The problem is I’m then following the Nethserver gui to bind a remote LDAP provider, and it accepts the hostname and port, but then I can’t get any further - I need to be able to import the certificate which google requires for authentication.

I’m happy enough following the instructions that Google have provided in the above link for setting up sssd manually, but my concern is the warning at the top of the SSSD.conf file on my nethserver telling me not to modify it - I also fear that the setup that I accomplish manually might not then be reflected in the Nethserver GUI when I’m coming to continue the setup of the proxy etc.

How should I proceed? Many thanks in advance!

Do you mean the cert for nethserver if so it’s usually a let’s encrypt cert that is auto renewed aprox 35 days but the updated can be auto scripted as for the format what format do they require the cert to be in as that can be scripted and automatically handled with Cron tab also using Google api the entire process of every time the nethserver cert is renewed can be scripted to then take the required certs export them to the correct format then upload to Google and trigger a refresh on there end to update the cert

No, I don’t mean that, in fact I’ve already got a letsencrypt cert set up on the server. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

A certificate is required to authenticate with the Google LDAP server (I’ve already downloaded it). From the instructions linked you can see how it would be used with sssd directly:

Create the file /etc/sssd/sssd.conf with the following contents: