Increase limit on email forwards, SOGo / dovecot

NethServer Version: 7.5
Module: SOGo / dovecot

I am using email forwarding in SOGo to distribute emails to a group of 30ish people. My test with 3 or 4 forwards works, but the larger groups do not send. I located the .dovecot.sieve.log, which told me there was a maximum of 4 forwards allowed. When I went to edit the dovecot.conf file, I see that i should not edit it! Where can i change this setting so i can forward to my 30 recipients through a single forward?

You need to create a custom template, http://docs.nethserver.org/projects/nethserver-devel/en/v7/templates.html

What is the setting you want to modify, maybe the default value is not enough

1 Like

Steph is right. As alternative you can configure a mail alias with multiple recipients.

What do you want to achieve? Why sieve?

Could you describe the issue with an example?

Thanks! this looks like exactly what I need to do. This is my first attempt at trying to migrate a client from SBS 2013 to Nethserver. In exchange we create distribution lists. You can email the distribution list name, and anyone in that list gets a copy of the email. I decided to use email forwards to accomplish the same thing via SOGo, but the distribution lists contain 20-30 emails each.

The dovecot.seive.log for the email address that serves as a distribution list says: “main script: line 5: error: number of redirect actions exceeds policy limit (5 >4).” I am interpreting this to mean that the system will not forward an email to more than 4 other email addresses.

the solution I found says to add this:

sieve_max_redirects = 25

in dovecot.conf file and restart dovecot.