HotSync PowerEdge R440 & PowerEdge R450

NethServer Version: 7.9.2009 (final)
Module: HotSync

I have a poweredge R440 xeon silver server as a master running as an AD DC which has accommodated 1000 users, my boss will buy a new server with a poweredge R450 xeon silver type as a AD DC backup.
can i apply for hotsync?
I only use 1 network card that is embedded in the server by default.

I’m from Indonesia, I’ve been using this netserver for 4 years, and I had to make a decision to buy a new server for backup.

Hi @Mustika_Niagara

We now have 2023, native installs should not be done anymore.
I’d suggest installing Proxmox as a Test.
You get live Backups, Cluster Features, Live Migration, all for free!
And Rock Solid!

PM me, if you want a visual demo…

My 2 cents
Andy

2 Likes

It’s good that you mention it, I just have uncertainty at the moment haha. I want to implement an active directory, I have two somewhat old servers, an nx430 and a poweredge R310, both with 8 gigs of ram.But precisely I want to have a backup server, so I don’t know whether to install NS7 Baremetal or install proxmos on each server and from there install virtual machines with NS7.

What really makes me doubt is the RAM of each server, because obviously proxmox consumes ram, and I consider that apart from that it would be the ram of the nethserver, so I don’t know how good or how bad the performance would be, there are approximately 200 users and 600 computers.

What do you think would be the best option?

Thanks in advance.

Get a newer Proxmox, and make a well available AD Server!

Those two boxes are much too old for any performance.

My 2 cents
Andy

:frowning:

It’s a school, money is the least there is lol.

Anyway thanks for your response.

Do you think that with some relatively new PC it can work? Because that can be, it could be a Dell OptiPlex 7050 core i7 with 32 gigabytes of ram.

That would be a lot better, can cover 200 users…

1 Like

Thanks, I’ll think about it, cheers.