Firewall / Shorewall does not start at boot

Hi,

I’m running NS 7.4 bare metal on HP Proliant DL380p Gen8. The firewall service does no longer start at boot. When I start manually it works fine. In the logs I can find the following information:

Running /sbin/iptables-restore …
Mar 3 16:23:22 ERROR: iptables-restore Failed. Input is in /var/lib/shorewall/.iptables-restore-input
Mar 3 16:23:24 Processing /etc/shorewall/stop …
Mar 3 16:23:24 Processing /etc/shorewall/tcclear …
Mar 3 16:23:24 Preparing iptables-restore input…
Mar 3 16:23:24 Running /sbin/iptables-restore…
Mar 3 16:23:24 IPv4 Forwarding Enabled
Mar 3 16:23:24 Processing /etc/shorewall/stopped …

The error is since I start more things at boot such as boinc client and an kvm guest. For a while I could help myself with a low priority in /etc/init.d scripts.

My impression is that it has something to do with the boot order and services not being available when shorewall starts. I’m not an linux expert but for sure can help with the right instructions to reproduce the error with more info.

Thanks
Thomas

Hi Thomas,

you may try to boot with an older kernel.

Here are some hints about not starting shorewall:

http://shorewall.org/troubleshoot.htm

Does shorewall start normally when you deactivate boinc and kvm guest? Just to see if one of these services makes problems…

Do you use custom templates?

Hi Markus,

the first time I noticed this was after enabling the Virt Manager with only one autostart ubuntu guest on a fresh NS installation.

I’m not using custom templates yet. In the meantime I registered three services in nethserer according to the manual with their firewall rules. Boinc starts with a init.d script with chkconfig: 235 95 95.

Unfortunately the issue does not occur at every boot.

The shorewall log shows a couple of warnings which I have not yet futher investigated.

WARNING: Unknown capability (RAWPOST_TABLE) ignored /etc/shorewall/capabilities (line 77)