DHCP issue with linux server

I am totally stucked with the ip range of my network. Can you explain me to how to extend dhcp ip range without restarting linux server. I tried editing dhcpd.conf file. But it is never save changes. thanks very much

Hi,

May I know which class of IP u have assigned and subnet mask.

Just use the web interface, DHCP -> Range. See http://docs.nethserver.org/en/latest/dhcp.html

2 Likes

Hi

you can watch the tutorial u will get some basic knowledge on it.

Thank you.

2 Likes

The class of ip 255.255.255.0
ip range is 192.168.100.1 - 192.168.100.10

this is not enough now to backup the datas. Please help me to edit this range without restarting the server. because there is a message in server " you must restart". I made little changes and i am affraid of any problem to users. Because i am new to nethserver systems and linux. thanks for helping me

Please go through the image. and extend ur range as u wish as per ur ip addresses.

Go to dashboard- services- check dhcp is running or not. and if require restart the dhcp service

2 Likes

That sounds good. but it is asking to restart the server. Ok, Can you help me to linux command or editing and saving dhcpd.conf file. Once i done it, but dhcpd.conf file reverts back to the status it was before every time i edit and restart the dhcpd service. thats why i so tired of being search for the correct one for help me. thanks.

Check this link. Hope it will be useful for you.

http://linuxconfig.org/what-is-dhcp-and-how-to-configure-dhcp-server-in-linux

After checking this if it not works then I guess u r stucked with some updates of RPM so it is not taking ur response, because of that it is asking for restart.

changing dhcp ip range doesn’t need a server restart…
can you please take a snapshot of the “please restart your server” message?