Change PHP version of default virtual host

Hi,
Firstly, my compliments to the designers of Nethserver! It is simply amazing and works almost out the box! So easy to configure, set up and use.
I do have a first issue though, I have a web application that needs PHP version 5.6 or higher, so I installed PHP 8.0 on a new Apache virtual host. However, the Apache default virtual host is still utilizing PHP 5.4. How do I change this please or remove the default virtual host?

not possible, use php-fpm with a virtulhost, eventually make a custom configuration to use php-fpm in /var/www/html

I’m sorry but your answer makes no sense to me, I do not understand your answer at all. I am new to Nethserver so if you could please explain what you mean?

no problem, in short if you want to break your system then you can go to install a major new php version.

Because we want a stable version we use php-fpm, a php version running behind a systemd service. Hence we do not modify the PHP version for the whole system but we use only inside a virtualhost

Ok, I still am lost. I installed PHP version 8.0 from the new virtual host setup option in Cockpit, so I’m not sure what you mean by “breaking the system”. Also, what exactly is php-fpm? I cannot find any major documentation online on this?

https://www.php.net/manual/en/install.fpm.php

You know, never mind. I will simply not use the application I wanted. The link you sent to me is too complicated. As explained I am very new to this, so I do not even understand what is explained there. Thank you anyway

1 Like

you could probably use your custom application inside a virtualhost if it is a web application, or if it is a CLI application, then I suppose you could still use it

yum install nethserver-remi-php80-php-fpm.noarch

then use in the CLI
php80 -v

or from my repository stephdl

yum install nethserver-remi-php81-php-fpm.noarch --enablerepo=stephdl