Centos first installation did not create Raid1

Hi all,

I have been playing with Nethserver in my dev environment for a few months now and am quite pleased that there is such a viable Windows AD alternative.

I have just recently installed Nethserver on two Dell Poweredge servers with an identical pair of 2 TB drives in each. Unfortunately, these came pre-installed with Win 2012 Essentials, so when I installed Nethserver, I had to go the route of installing Centos first and then running the cli commands to install Nethserver. (I will explain this further in a moment)

For this Centos installation, I selected both disks and chose automatic partitioning along with going through the process of reclaiming space and deleting all existing partitions. However, on both installs (which I later replicated on a VM in my dev environment with the same result) RAID1 was not implemented even though both disks were selected.

So, my question is, is there a way to setup RAID 1 on these drives post-install, or do I have to go back through the installation again with manual partitioning, etc. in order to implement RAID?

As a side note, I have replicated this installation scenario multiple times in multiple environments, and have found the same result that unless the drives I use are brand new, never been used drives, Nethserver will not install except by installing Centos alone first.

I even went through multiple trials of erasing the drives, formatting the drives, deleting the volume, etc. with no success on re-used HDDs. I would love some further information on this as well. Is this a bug??

Much appreciate everyone’s hard work on putting together such a viable AD alternative.

Thanks!

Ken

CentOS needs to be told to make RAID1, it doesn’t make it automatically.
So I think that your best option is to use the NethServer installer to use it’s automatic raid1 feature.
As you discovered, you need to give empty disks to NethServer.