Nethsecurity forward incoming traffic from domain to other IP

NethServer Version: RC1
Module: NS7
Hi,

I’m a noob on NS (yet) and i’m trying out Nethsecurity to move over my server slowely to other distro,
Most import thing is to get Nethsecurity working.
I’ve got i running and the DHCP is giving leases to the devices. So i’ve internet on the network.
Now i want to have the incoming traffic like mail, nextcloud and SOGo webmail to be accesable from outside.
I’ve made port forwards for port 25,80 and 443 from WAN to IP 192.168.1.2 and open the ports in the firewall.
When i want to access the pages from my domain i do not get to the nextcloud papge or webmail. When i try the WAN IP i will see the webserver.
WAN IP with /nextcloud or so doesn’t work and i’ll see the Nethsecurity login page

Most importantly is using my domainname is not working at all. not even the webserver page

What am i doing wrong ?
Appreciate the help and patience :grinning:

I think you need to enable hairpin nat in the advanced settings of the port forward to follow port forwards from internal network.

From Port forward — NethSecurity documentation :

By default, all port forwards are accessible only for hosts inside the WAN. Refer to the Hairpin NAT for instructions on changing this default behavior.

grafik

@mrmarkuz

The link you posted does not work: 404…

I am trying to find out what “hairpin” is used for, I’ve never used that function, yet never have had any issues connecting to internal hosts - as DNS works, I always get the internal IP…

Seems a lot of people have to use “hairpin”, INHO a basic design failure…
After all, NS7 already used an “overwrite” capable DNS (DNSmasq and Unbound both can handle this correctly…), so does NethSecurity…

So why use “Hairpin”?

I do not understand why people are connecting to the external IP, for a resource which is internal…

Or is “hairpin” basically a “workaround” for people who have NO understanding of how basic DNS works?

My 2 cents
Andy