Transfer Nextcloud to NethServer/Nextcloud

NethServer Version: 7.9.2009
Module: Nextcloud

Hello at all and sorry for my poor english!

I am new at NethServer and want to transfer my existing NextCloud Installation (Data, User and Shared Folders) in a new virtual maschine.
Current NC is 20.0.2 on Ubuntu 18.04.5

My question is: What happens to the registration of installed apps in NethServer?

Should I install NC in NethServer and then restore the backup from the old NC (maybe delete the fresh installed NC in NethServer before restore), so Neth know already there is a NC-Installation.
Or should I just restore the backup and NethServer will recognice the installed (restored) NC?

I’d like to have the possibility to administrate the NC in NethServer like I can, if I install and use it from a NethServer Installation of NC.

I hope someone understand, what I mean, in my head the question is really clear! :stuck_out_tongue:

Greetings and thanks in advance!

@SoehnelS

Hi Sven

And Welcome to the NethServer Community!

Maybe start by telling us, what your existing NC contains?

• Amount of Users?
  • Authenticification System? (Local, LDAP or AD?)
  • Size of Data stored
  • Lots of Apps?

The best and most stable way would be to:

• Setup a fresh NethServer as you did
  • Decide on either LDAP or AD - I’d go for AD, as this allows authenticated shares, not just “public” shares…
  • Recreate your users - by hand or an import script, if you have many
  • Setup NextCloud on the New Server as Admin with all Apps as before - some Apps need additional installations or stuff, like CODE…
  • Login to your old Nextcloud as each user and use the Backup/Transfer function to extract all data into a single file.
  • Login to the New Server as the same user, and upload your backup.

There might be easier ways, but we’ld need to know a bit more… :slight_smile:

My 2 cents
Andy

Ah, sorry, I forgott! :wink:

Very small environment just to connect the Family parts from the Philippines.