Talking about Samba4, Active Directory and LDAP

[quote=“robb, post:10, topic:690, full:true”]
@Christian
With NS 7 we aim to add Samba4+Kerberos to the services and this will bring the functionality closer to a Windows AD server, and probably closer to Univention functionality. Although I can not tell exactly what it would take since I am not an LDAP/AD/Samba4 expert as you are… :slight_smile:[/quote]

I would not say I’m an expert :mask: well, perhaps on LDAP :wink:

Indeed bringing Kerberos in is definitely a great step ahead especially if other embedded components benefit from this SSO feature. As you stated in another post, it’s all matter of “company size” thus scenario. If you bring Kerberos for small company which may not have a lot of computer, perhaps even not “Windows pro” workstations, then Kerberos is pretty useless because login/password will still be used and domain concept, if we discuss about Windows, doesn’t bring, IMHO, a lot of added value here.

On the other hand, as soon as you expand either scope (more clients, pro Windows workstation or whatever client supporting Kerberos) + admin capability to understand what’s behind, then this is another game: Kerberos, although not perfect will greatly change the way internal (I mean “within the company LAN”) authentication works. Add another external server/application, join Kerberos domain and here you are with SSO and somewhat better security.

Once you’re there, if your Kerberos implementation is Samba4, then you’re are very close to emulate Windows domain.