Is NethServer better than a dedicated utm distro?

Am I crazy or are you guys saying that ns is better than a dedicated utm distro?
I am planning on building out a sophos utm router/firewall, should I look into using ns instead?
I am a bit of a noob so does it make sense for me?

Sophos :anguished:

Sophos is not Open Source, and read carefully the EULA…They are collecting data :cold_sweat:
For a security feature…This is contradictory at least.

Yes, Nethserver is better in way that it’s totally open source AND free, other UTM solutions are closed or paid.
All ClearOS free stuff is weaker, all Untangle free stuff is weaker.

Now if you want firewall/gateway ONLY, go for pfsense or opnsense, but it you want a little more… Nethserver exist.

4 Likes

Yes, why not? NethServer is a full-featured UTM firewall. What are your aims? Please add some details.

Well when I was looking into ns I thought it was just an enhanced centos distro with webgui. As I came across of it on discussion about webvirtmanager.
I have been trying to setup webvirtmanager on a centos7 min. Install and was not too successful.

I was looking into using ns for my virtualization/fileserver setup. As I tried the ns in vm and it look nice, and the webvirtmanager setup from the app center was nice and easy, and it worked.

I thought I sould setup ns on my supermicro server and use that to run several vms for my needs and share the data drives for all clients. As I have only one server I want to use it in a double role capacity.
But my existing data pools are on btrfs raid1 and the ns 6.7 does not support btrfs out of the box. I posted a question here and got help on that so I was about to try the setup bit saw this comparison and got confused a bit.

Ps. I also plan to build a router/firewall on lenovo sff pc and planed to use sophos utm 9 on it.