Upgrade Nethserver 6.9 to 7 study case

Hello,

Actually, I’ve got a well tuned NethServer 6.9 instance on my Microserver Gen8 configured as Firewall, router.
It’s the guardian of my home network, and it a Time Machine Network Backup too…

I’m studying a way to upgrade to Nethserver 7 in a rapid and sure way to do this.

I looked the with MacOS Sierra, the Time Machine can be naturally done over the SMB protocol… The Time Machine software don’t need AFP anymore.
https://support.apple.com/kb/PH25585?locale=en_US

And I ask myself, and ask you too: :wink:
Can I install a Nethserver instance with the SMB share without the LDAP stuff?

Yes, you can have shared folders with guest access only (from LAN)

The backup is only for lan… Perhaps it’s suficient.

Is it possible to make a user in the unix way, and make a share only for this user?

You need a Samba user and - optionally - a Unix user named after it.

Then add samba tdb files to config backup…

I think it could work (like ns6 :grinning:)!

Thank you…

I think it’s the only point that could eventually slowing the upgrade process…
Because make a Ldap for one shere, for one user for one computer… it’s over :blush:

1 Like

Hello,

I’m back again here with my Nethserver 7.3 instance.

I would like to say it was easy and I’m now very happy… But it wasn’t and I’m relatively disappointing.

Let’s me explain why… Not to criticise, or devalue all the mount of work done.
But to think about a way to do better, a way to improve the “user experience”

I choose to install Nethserver over a minimal CentOS 7 installation…
The minimal CentOS installation is not complicate, install Nethserver over it isn’t too, but at the end of the Nethserver installation, I think it’s lack a tool to choose what rule for what connection, or in other word, a tool to attribut the rule for each NIC.
By default, the Nethserver install choose the green rule for the first NIC ( with by extension this NIC connected to internet )… Is something absurd!!!