Set up Nameservers

Hi guys,

I’m new to nethserver. I am trying it right now in a virtual machine to see if it’s what i need.
So… i’m using the lastest version (that is 7 which is in RC). Most of it looks pretty good (thoough i have to mention there is a bug with Account provider: Samba Active Directory which i can’t install because of Jabber chat server i think)…

Anyway my real problem is setting up nameservers. So the question is: can nethserver act as a nameserver? Can i host my own nameservers? i know that maybe this is not a big problem for most of the people but for me it’s a big one because my registrar is just a plain and simple registrar and i can’t change it (basically my registrar registered my domain but it doesn’t host any nameservers so i can’t point my domain from their panel to my IP… form their panel i can only mention the nameservers)

1 Like

Hi,

What do you mean with “nameserver”?
Do you mean DNS, Domain Name Server?

Hi Lucian,

Welcome aboard!

Unfortunately NS can’t act as an Authoritative DNS server.

Please read this topic: External DNS Management

Kind regards,
Gabriel

EDIT:

Other useful topics regarding this subject:

Replace dnsmasq with BIND9
bind9+facileManager webui

2 Likes

Thanks a lot, Gabriel! (Multumesc mult!)

I guess i have to try other solutions!

1 Like

You are welcome!

I still use Windows 2k3 Server as Authoritative DNS Server (till now, the best solution for me).
And I still looking for a (Linux with GUI) solution to replace it!

You should try Debian+Ispconfig3 (i know it does more but you should give it a try)

2 Likes

In the dnsmasq man page…
http://www.thekelleys.org.uk/dnsmasq/docs/dnsmasq-man.html

Dnsmasq can act as authoritavive DNS.

2 Likes

Hi Jim,

You’re right. Dnsmasq can act as Authoritative DNS Server, but partial ( Comparison of DNS server software - Wikipedia).
But here, we are talking about NethServer and as Giacomo said, “Sadly we never designed current DNS implementation for such scenario.”, …