Need Help email. Sending email outside

NethServer Version: 6.8
Module: your_module

Hi, I have problem in my nethserver and i can’y figure out how to solve this. I setup email in my nethserver 6 and it’s working fine except when i email outside. But when it comes in receiving email i have no problem. can you check the logs i attached when i tried to email outside. Im sorry guys im very new in linux. Thanks and God Bless.

Maybe your ISP doesn’t permit connections on port 25 to the other servers?

Try enabling and configure the smarthost with the SMTP configuration of your ISP.

1 Like

Thanks, But how can i do that? Im using pfsense as my firewall but i dont know how to enable and configure smarthost with the SMTP. Thank you so much…

Every connection fails with a timeout? Looks like you’re filtering/blocking outside connections with pfsense

Take a look at this:

Ok, check if your pfsense blocks port 25 from your lan to the internet.

If pfsense blocks it, open the port on pfsense (if you can, permit to use port 25 to the internet only for the ip addess of the Nethserver).

You find the smarthost in Nethservice:

Email -> tab “Messages” -> Activate “Send using a smarthost” -> Compile the fields that appearing.

1 Like

Hi alefattorini,

I think my configuration in pfsense was correct because when i tried to send an email in my existing email server its working except to the others like google,yahoo etc. Thanks bro!

Hi Saitobenkei,

what username and password should i use in smarhost? Is my nethserver username? thanks

Where is your existing email server? In the same lan where is the Nethserver or on internet?

With your existing email server you can sent to google, yahoo, etc?

In the smarthost you have to insert the credentials of SMTP connection usually provided by your Internet Provider.

Maybe you have to put only the SMTP server of your internet provider without username/password.